Ann Cody Honored by the United States Olympic Foundation


United States Olympic Foundation honors three individuals for contributions to Olympic and Paralympic Movements

NEW YORK – The United States Olympic Foundation today presented three awards at the annual USOF Luncheon and Awards Ceremony in New York City. Ann Cody, Pat Summitt and Peter V. Ueberroth were honored in recognition of their commitment and contributions to the Olympic and Paralympic Movements.

The USOF was established after the 1984 Olympic Games in Los Angeles to benefit Olympic, Paralympic and amateur sports in the United States. A nonprofit organization, its objective is to support the United States Olympic Committee and its member organizations. A separate entity from the USOC, the USOF oversees the corpus of endowed funds that resulted from the surplus from the 1984 Games.

Summitt, the winningest basketball coach in NCAA history, and Cody, a pioneer in the Paralympic sports movement, each received the George M. Steinbrenner III Sport Leadership Award. The award is presented annually by the USOF to honor outstanding members of the Olympic and Paralympic family who have contributed to sport through management, sport organization endeavors or the enhancement of competitive opportunities, and who have displayed qualities of leadership, ethical conduct and dedicated responsibility during a longstanding commitment to sport.

Ueberroth, former USOC chairman and MLB commissioner, received the William E. Simon Award, given by the USOF to individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of the Olympic and Paralympic Movements. Simon – the award’s namesake – was president of the USOC from 1981-85 and served as U.S. Secretary of the Treasury for three years under Presidents Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford.

About the award recipients

Ann Cody

Cody has been a tireless advocate for the Paralympic Movement. Through her leadership, the International Paralympic Committee established a policy on gender equity and implemented critical initiatives aimed at increasing participation by women in Paralympic sport. Cody serves on the IPC’s Governing Board and is the highest-ranking American and highest-ranking woman in the IPC. She is also a member of the International Olympic Committee 2018 Evaluation Commission and the USOC’s Paralympic Advisory Committee. Cody is a Paralympic gold medalist in track & field and competed on three U.S. Paralympic Teams (basketball, 1984; track & field, 1988, 1992).

Pat Summitt

Summitt is the winningest coach in NCAA basketball history. She coached the Tennessee Lady Vols from 1974-2012, winning eight national championships and 32 combined Southeastern Conference titles. Summit ended her career at the helm of the UT women’s basketball team with a 1,098-208 overall record. She brought that same standard of excellence to USA Basketball. As a player, she earned a spot on the 1976 U.S. Olympic Team, serving as co-captain and leading the team to the silver medal. As a coach, she guided the U.S. women to silver in 1983 and gold in 1984. Summitt was inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame in 1999 and the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 2000.

Peter V. Ueberroth

Ueberroth has been an Olympic force for more than three decades. He initially made his mark as the president of the Los Angeles Olympic Organizing Committee from 1980-84. Under his leadership, the first privately funded Olympic Games resulted in a surplus of $238 million, which continues to support youth sports across the United States. He was elected as the first chair of the restructured USOC board of directors in June of 2004. In 2008, the USOC elected Ueberroth honorary president for a two-year term. Ueberroth’s Olympic accomplishments are reflected in numerous awards, including being named 1984 Man of the Year by both Time Magazine and The Sporting News and receiving the Olympic Order in Gold from the IOC at the culmination of the Los Angeles Olympic Games. Ueberroth served as MLB commissioner from 1984-89, and his 1985 book, Made in America, was a bestseller.

Winners of the George M. Steinbrenner III Sport Leadership Award:

2012 Ann Cody and Pat Summitt

2011 Thomas W. Weisel

2010 Tom Gompf

2009 Carol Zaleski

2008 Kirk Bauer

2007 Alan Rothenberg

2006 Walter L. Bush Jr.

Winners of the William E. Simon Award:

2012 Peter V. Ueberroth

2011 Henry A. Kissinger

2010 Daniel L. Doctoroff and Patrick G. Ryan


Josie Burke

(719) 433-3571

This entry was posted in News, Policy/Advocacy, USOC. Bookmark the permalink.