CRPD Update!

Thank you to USICD and DREDF for compiling this update:


Thank you for all of your calls and emails these past couple of weeks to get a hearing on the CRPD in the Senate Foreign Relations Committee! Thursday’s hearing went very well, disability advocates filled the room, and the positive message of the CRPD was carried throughout the proceedings. You can watch it (with captions)  here.

The Committee’s next step is a mark-up and vote on the treaty, and by the end of the day yesterday they scheduled the CRPD for mark-up for next  Thursday, June 19!   This is a ‘woo hoo’ moment!

We need a strong vote out of the Committee in order to move it to the floor for a final vote for the Senate’s advice and consent to ratify.

ACTION:
We know that we’ve asked you to make a lot of calls recently, and now we’re down to the wire, and continue to need your leadership and networks. Please continue to make our voices heard, thank your networks for their actions and ask them for another round of calls and emails. We need to thank the senators for their attention to the CRPD, and ask them to support the treaty in this next step!

MESSAGE:
Thank you Senator for your leadership on the Senate Foreign Relations Committee and for your attention to the U.S. ratification of the Disability Treaty. I request that you support the CRPD at the Committee meeting on June 19, vote in
favor of the treaty in Committee, and move it forward to a floor vote in the Senate!”

CONTACT:

Chairman:
Senator John Kerry (D-MA)
(202) 224-4651

Chief counsel:
Andrew Keller
andrew_keller@foreign.senate.gov
OR   www.kerry.senate.gov/contact/

Ranking Member:
Senator Richard Lugar (R-IN)
(202) 224-6797

Chief counsel:
Michael Mattler
michael_mattler@foreign.senate.gov
OR   www.lugar.senate.gov/contact/
Senator John Barrasso (R-WY)
COSPONSOR OF CRPD!!
(202) 224-6441

Foreign LA:
Amber Bland ( amber_bland@barrasso.senate.gov)
OR   http://www.barrasso.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?FuseAction=ContactUs.ContactForm
Senator
Barbara Boxer (D-CA)
(202) 224-3553

Foreign LA:
Ann Norris ( ann_norris@boxer.senate.gov)
OR www.boxer.senate.gov/en/contact/
Senator
Ben Cardin (D-MD)
(202)224-4524

Foreign LA:
Katharine Beamer ( katharine_beamer@cardin.senate.gov)
OR   www.cardin.senate.gov/contact/
Senator
Bob Casey, Jr. (D-PA)
( 202) 224-6324

Foreign LA:
Damian Murphy ( damian_murphy@casey.senate.gov)
OR   www.casey.senate.gov/contact/
SenatorChris Coons (D-DE)
COSPONSOR OF CRPD!!!
(202)224-5042

Foreign LA:
Halie Soifer ( halie_soifer@coons.senate.gov)
OR www.coons.senate.gov/contact/
Senator
Bob Corker (R-TN)
(202)224-3344

Foreign LA:
Stacie Oliver ( stacie_oliver@corker.senate.gov)
OR   www.corker.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?p=ContactMe
SenatorJim DeMint (R-SC)
(202) 224-6121

Foreign LA:
Lydia Morgan ( lydia_morgan@demint.senate.gov)
OR   www.demint.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?p=ContactInformation
Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL)
COSPONSOR OF CRPD!!!
(202) 224-2152

Foreign LA:
Chris Homan ( chris_homan@durbin.senate.gov)
OR   www.durbin.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/contact

Senator Jim Inhofe (R-OK)
(202)224-4721

Foreign LA:
Joel Starr ( joel_starr@inhofe.senate.gov)
OR   http://www.inhofe.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?FuseAction=Contact.ContactForm
Senator
Johnny Isakson (R-GA)
(202) 224-3643

Foreign LA:
Chris Sullivan ( chris_sullivan@isakson.senate.gov)
OR   www.isakson.senate.gov/contact.cfm

SenatorMike Lee (R-UT)
(202) 224-5444

Foreign LA:
Miriam Harmer ( miriam_harmer@lee.senate.gov)
OR   www.lee.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/contact
SenatorBob Menendez (D-NJ)
(202) 224-4744

Foreign LA:
Jodi Herman ( jodi_herman@menendez.senate.gov)
OR   menendez.senate.gov/contact/

Senator Marco Rubio (R-FL)
(202) 224-3041

Foreign LA:
Victor Cervino ( victor_cervino@rubio.senate.gov)
OR   www.rubio.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/contact

 

Senator Jim Risch (R-ID)
(202)224-2752

Foreign LA:
Chris Socha ( chris_socha@risch.senate.gov)
OR www.risch.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?p=Email

Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
(202) 224-2841

Foreign LA:
Chad Kreikmeier ( chad_kreikemeier@shaheen.senate.gov)
OR   www.shaheen.senate.gov/contact/
Senator Tom Udall (D-NM)
COSPONSOR OF CRPD!!!
(202) 224-6621

Foreign LA:
Matt Padilla ( matthew_padilla@tomudall.senate.gov) OR   www.tomudall.senate.gov/?p=contact
SenatorJim Webb (D-VA)
(202) 224-4024

Foreign LA: Marta Ross ( marta_mclellanross@webb.senate.gov)
OR   www.webb.senate.gov/contact.cfm

As a reminder, Senator Isakson (R-GA) sits on the Senate Foreign Relations committee so for all of BlazeSports supporters and friends in Georgia, it is especially important to weigh in on the issue in the next week.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.